Arliss Whistler couldn't believe how many years he had worked at the polls.

Scott County Auditor Roxanna Moritz presented awards to 57 precinct chair people during an awards luncheon August 8, 2011 sponsored by the Auditor’ Office.  An additional 18 chair people who could not attend will be mailed their awards.  The awards consist of a certificate for years of service and an election officials pin in the form of the Scott County logo. 

Certificates like the one pictured here were awarded for years of service up to ten years as chair people.

Besides the awards luncheon, the event also served as a training opportunity, with the Election Department staff putting together a game of “Jeopardy” involving election related categories.  These included – Acronyms and Abbreviations, It’s 6:00 a.m.; Now What, Election Day Registration, Provisional Ballots, It’s 8:00 p.m.; Now What and Election Potpourri.   The officials were split into two groups and competed to be Jeopardy champions.  We won’t say which team won.

Audrae Zoeckler receives her award for years of service from Auditor Moritz.

“Working the polls is a thankless job,” Auditor Moritz said.  “You are up early in the morning and work late into the night.  It is often boring, always tedious and occasionally frustrating work.  It is also vital to making democracy work, and therefore one of the most important jobs in America,” she said.  “Our poll workers deserve recognition for a job well done.”

Darlene Reinert was one of 75 precinct chair people to be honored by the Scott County Auditor's Office for her years of service.


Mike Salter received his award from Auditor Moritz.